Mohamed Alaa


Born in 1984, in Cairo, Egypt, where he lives and works.

He graduated in 2007 in Painting at the Fine Arts College in Cairo and then he studied Filmmaking at High Cinema Institute of Cairo.

IN THE BOX “PIECE OF BREAD”
“I get dressed, pick up a hammer and get ready to go out and earn crust of bread. I try to show how hard it is to earn a living in a totalitarian system. I keep repeating the image of physical effort over and over again in the attempt to get inside myself and search for something I didn’t already know. I’m looking for a new challenge, a way to another life by breaking through a thick wall.
I am always meditating about my time and space. I am always breaking free, meditating my time and space, biting my nails.I’m in a box trying to live, think and earn a crust of bread and this won`t happen unless we destroy that thick wall and enter into a better life.”

This entry was published on August 24, 2012 at 9:18 am and is filed under Artist, Video, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

